The Canadian Angus Foundation offers many different scholarships that juniors can apply for. The Foundation functions to preserve and expand the Angus breed for future generations through education, youth development, scientific and market research and historical preservation. Please read all the information about the scholarships below to find out if you meet the criteria.

Foundation Legacy Scholarship

Awards totaling $10,000 will be presented to Canadian Junior Angus members, recognizing overall academic achievement, leadership and community involvement, and industry knowledge. Three awards in the amount of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000 will be presented.

Deadline: January 5

Top five applicants selected must be present at Guiding Outstanding Angus Leaders (GOAL) for an interview and panel discussion. Award winners will be announced at GOAL.

View and print out the Foundation Legacy Scholarship (PDF)

Deadline: January 5

Canadian Junior Angus Scholarships

Three scholarships will be awarded in the amounts of $2000 for first-place, $1500 for second-place, and $1000 for third-place.

Deadline: June 15. The scholarships are awarded at Showdown.

The 2018 Scholarship Winners are: Meghan McGillivray ($2000), Halley Adams ($1500) and Heidi Tymko ($1000)

  • 2017 Scholarship Winners: Alexis DeCorby, Macy Liebreich and Ella Wood
  • 2016 Scholarship Winners: Melanie Wood, Michaela Chalmers and Rebecca Redner
  • 2015 Scholarship Winners: Brooke Bablitz, Jennifer Jermey and Matt Bates
  • 2014 Scholarship Winners: Breanna Anderson, Traci Henderson and Kaitlynn Bolduc

View and print out the CJA Scholarship Application (PDF)

Deadline: June 15

Dick Turner Memorial Award

The Dick Turner Memorial Award was established after the passing of legendary Angus icon Dick Turner in July of 2010. During his lifetime, Dick committed 55 years of his career to livestock publishing and successfully promoted and advertised the Angus breed specifically through the Canadian Aberdeen Angus News magazine. It was Dick’s ability to foster relationships and boundless enthusiasm that led to his successful tenure. He believed that “information is power” and was best shared with all stakeholders. Dick was a hard worker and recognized the quality of life and relationships as the most rewarding part of his job. The deadline to apply is May 15.

The 2018 Dick Turner Memorial Scholarship recipient is Macy Liebreich from Radville, SK.

  • 2017 Scholarship Winner: Meghan McGillivray
  • 2016 Scholarship Winner: Raina Syrnyk
  • 2015 Scholarship Winner: Allison Speller
  • 2014 Scholarship Winner: Matt Bates
  • 2013 Scholarship Winner: Becky Domolewshi
  • 2012 Scholarship Winner: Chad Lorenz

View and print out the Dick Turner Memorial Scholarship Application (PDF)

Deadline:  May 15

2018 Angus Roots Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Angus Roots scholarship winners: Nolan Chalmers, Jessica Davey, Owen Dudgeon, Madison Ethier, Braiden Hasson, and Hillary Sauder.

For more information about the Foundation and current projects, contact:

Belinda Wagner
Canadian Angus Foundation Executive Director
(306) 757-6133